Skip to content

Happy Schedule Day!

June 22, 2010

I know that people shouldn’t get that excited about the day of the schedule release, but I always find myself getting overly excited. The release of the schedule means two things:

1) It’s fun to look ahead and see some of the big matchups.

2) I get to plan out all my road trips for the year. (This is the best part)

Let’s take a glance at some of the things I’m looking most forward to next season.

The Blackhawks’ Home Opener against the Red Wings. One really couldn’t ask for a better home opener. The Hawks will face their hated rival and it will feature a pre-game Stanley Cup banner raise. I know tickets are going to be insanely expensive, but I might drop the money to see that.

The All-Star Game in Raleigh. I love the NHL All-Star game, but what I love more is the Skills Competition the night before. It’s always fun to watch.

Hockey Day In Canada. This is always a special day. The entire country comes together to celebrate the game and a small town with a strong hockey heritage gets featured. The day is just a giant hockey marathon as all six Canadian NHL franchises face-off against each other.

Hockey Day In America. A relatively new thing, but I’ve always applauded USA Hockey’s attempts to grow the sport with Hockey Weekend Across America. Still in its early years, this will be the first hockey weekend that will feature NHL involvement. NBC will broadcast an entire day of hockey, featuring three games played back-to-back. Hopefully this will raise awareness of Hockey Weekend Across America and in turn, grow the sport below the 49th parallel.

Heritage Classic. On the same day as Hockey Day in America, the Calgary Flames and the Montreal Canadiens will face-off in a the NHL’s second outdoor game of the season. After a day of American teams and the States celebrating the game, attentions can be turned north to the Heritage Classic.

So that’s it. While there are plenty of other games on the schedule worth getting excited over, these were just a few that caught my attention. If you have any that you’d like to add, feel free to leave something in the comments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 4:46 pm

    I’ve got to say that the Blackhawks’ opener against the Red Wings does get me excited especially after the whole raising of the championship banner stuff.

    I’ll be interested to see how successful Hockey Day in America is as well.

Leave a Reply

