Skip to content

It Finally Happened

May 24, 2010

I’m 22. In my lifetime the Chicago Blackhawks have now made it twice to the Stanley Cup Final. There’s one problem though.

I don’t remember the first time they made it. I was four. To make matters worse, the first playoffs I remember occurred the next season.

Now to be fair, this isn’t the first time a team I cared about made it to the Stanley Cup Final. I’m one of those people that splits my allegiances between two teams. I also consider myself a Tampa Bay Lightning fan, yet its not the same.

When the Lightning won the cup it wasn’t the same. I was happy, but the Hawks have always been my team. When I was a little kid playing hockey in the house, I imagined I was a Blackhawk. My first sweater was a red Blackhawks one which still hangs proudly in my closet, although I haven’t been able to fit into it for years. As a kid completely in love with a game, growing up in the Chicagoland area, the Blackhawks were the only thing that mattered.

Even now, when I’m skating by myself I imagine what it would be like to be a Blackhawk. Although I’m a college graduate and supposed to be an adult, last night when I was skating alone I pretended I was on a line with Kane and Toews. The fact I’d be the oldest on that line is a little disconcerting though. Sure it’s lame, but find me a hockey fan in the same situation that doesn’t do that. I doubt a day will come when I stop imagining that, I’ll always be a kid at heart.

Yesterday, I woke up with a feeling.

I have found when I get these feelings, they’re about 70-80% correct. I just knew that the Hawks were going to take the series. I can’t explain why. In fact, I could have given a strong argument explaining why they wouldn’t win yesterday.

Chicago got off to a horrible start. Yet despite all of things against them, Ladd getting injured, Keith losing seven teeth, the early 2-0 deficit, they came back and won.

I love sports because it is a completely unscripted drama unfolding in front of all of us. It’s a play in which even the actors have no idea what is to come. I think that’s why when things end in the manner they did, you know it will stick with you. It was simply poetic to watch a team go down 2-0, only to watch them rally back and win off of a Byfuglien goal. When the Hawks scored to take the lead I wasn’t in shock that it happened, only that Big Buff was the goal scorer. It was too perfect.

When that final horn went off, I felt a smile spread across my face. Finally, I would be able to watch my Hawks play in a Stanley Cup Final. From there I felt myself becoming like a kid again. I got really excited about the handshake line. Explaining to a room of mainly hockey fans why it was such a great thing. Then when Toews went to accept the Campbell Bowl I began screaming, “Don’t touch that goddamn trophy. It’s tradition! Don’t do it!”

For me, it was the something I’ve been waiting for my entire life. I really stopped caring how ridiculous I was acting, I just wanted to enjoy it.

Yet this isn’t the goal, the Cup is. The Hawks are only four wins away, but I’m already ecstatic. I want the Hawks to win, 47 seasons is just too long to go without a championship. But for me, it finally happened. My favorite team is playing for the Stanley Cup.

Leave a Reply

