Skip to content

New Post, New(ish) Direction

March 28, 2010

Alright, so it’s been a while since I last posted in this blog. For anyone that was a regular reader of this blog, I am sorry. Sometimes life is interesting. By interesting I mean that at times life changes unexpectedly and you have to deal with it. This is a hockey blog, not one about personal life issues, so I’ll just leave it at that.

I’m back to blogging now, but in my time away from writing I decided on a few things I would want to do differently with Hoosier Hockey. One thing I’ve always thought about during my time writing for blogs is that I hate doing recaps and I heavily prefer just expressing what’s going through my head. So I am going to do away with trying to cover the IHL, USHL, College and High School teams in Indiana. I’ll still write about them from time to time, it just will not be my primary focus. Instead I’m just going to write from the heart.

Indiana is pretty much a hockey wasteland. We had our glory days with the Racers in the 70s, but now it’s a place where hockey fans are hard to find with the exceptions of seeing them at Indiana Ice games. Growing up in this area generally means one thing, if you’re a hockey fan in this part of the country, it’s because you really love the sport. An Indiana hockey fan, especially one based in central Indiana has to try to find hockey coverage and talk…well at least before the internet came along. Yet, throughout my life in my efforts to watch hockey and seek it out in hockey purgatory I have come to realize my reasons why I love this sport as much as I do.

So that’s what I aim to write about.

This blog will probably over the coming months will transition more into a journal of a hockey fan in Indiana more so than a blog about hockey in Indiana. In other terms, more will be written on reactions to things occurring within the sport, reasons why this is the greatest game on the face of the earth and just anecdotes about being a hockey fan in the Corn Belt.

Hockey and Punk Rock will still be a recurring theme as will rants in reaction to idiot reporters.

I hope that you will enjoy this new direction more, as I’m sure I will.

Thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

