Skip to content

One Timers, News and Notes (Nov. 17)

November 18, 2009

Alright so I figured I should give an update involving the hockey news that matters to Hoosier hockey fans.

 

– The Ice split their series over the weekend against the Fargo Force. I attended the Friday night contest which I highlighted as the game of the week. I must say I was disappointed by the lack of drunken debauchery created from $2 beer night. In fact, most of the people I saw that were drunk were in my group. Although I did see a fantastic head save by Fargo goaltender Cody Campbell and by head save I mean he literally moved his head forward into the puck like he was heading a soccer ball.

There was some controversy in the Saturday night game as Indiana’s game-tying goal was disallowed due to goaltender interference. I’ve been trying to find more one this, but to no avail. If you were at the game please give me the details.

As for the Ice, they will play a rare weekday game on Wednesday against the Cedar Rapids Roughriders. This game is in Pan Am Plaza in downtown Indy instead of Pepsi Coliseum, so it should be interesting to witness a change in environment for the Ice as Pan Am Plaza only seats about 1,000 people. I expect this game to have the atmosphere of a college or high school hockey game.

– Moving on to the Komets, goaltender Tim Haun was awarded the IHL Goaltender of the Week Award for his recent efforts. He had a record of 2-1-0 last week with a save percentage of .933, quite an impressive set of numbers.

Blake Sebring had an interesting little piece about the need for the Komets to have a true rival. I’m always in favor of Indianapolis moving up to the IHL to fill that void. [News-Sentinel]

Over the weekend the Komets faced the Muskegon Lumberjacks for the first time since that unfortunate ref-tossing incident. No official hurling happened, but Hockeyfights.com does have footage of a fight that took place. Of course, Lawmaster was involved. [hockeyfights.com]

Fort Wayne does meet Muskegon again this weekend, so perhaps this bloody affair will continue.

 

-From the high school ranks I’ve heard of a great story involving the St. Joseph’s hockey team which will play a sled hockey game on Sunday to raise awareness about the sport which caters to hockey fans with disabilities. [South Bend Tribune]

 

-Finally some news not directly involving hockey within the Hoosier state, it seems that the Columbus Blue Jackets may have to move if a new stadium lease is not worked out. I plan to write about this more in-depth soon. [Columbus Dispatch]

I’ve gone to a lot of minor league hockey games in my life and have seen some awful sweaters done for special occasions/gimmics, but Missouri Mavericks Harry S. Truman Tribute Night sweater my take the cake as one of the worst ones I’ve witnessed. I literally laughed in disgust when I saw it. [Missouri Mavericks via Uni Watch]

No comments yet

Leave a comment