Skip to content

An Introduction

October 26, 2009

I always find that that first post on a blog is the most difficult. It reminds me of when I get a new notebook, I tend to leave the first page clean because I’m uncertain how I should start. Yet, since this is a public blog, it would be odd to just jump into this with absolutely no introduction. So I suppose I will give an introduction to myself and my goals for this blog.

Let’s start with me.

My name is Peter and I’m addicted to hockey. From the time I was a small child I’ve loved this sport. My life is tied to it in so many ways that even if I wanted to get away from it, I would be unable to do it. I’m not sure if it is true, but the story is that “hockey” was the second word I ever said. My best friend’s great-grandfather played for the Detroit Red Wings and coached some of the hockey teams in Indianapolis. I have a family friend who is in the Hockey Hall of Fame. I can’t escape this sport, not that I would want to.

Along with hockey, I love my home state and my hometown of Indianapolis. I really love the culture in the Midwest and I am proud to be a Hoosier.

Indiana isn’t considered much of a hockey state. In fact, sometimes people think the hockey sweaters I wear are soccer jerseys. Yet that’s not to say that Indiana is void of hockey fans or that we don’t have a proud hockey heritage in this state. I’ve met some great hockey fans in this state and Indiana has a great history with hockey.

I’ve always noticed that hockey fans have a different relationship with each other than fans of other sports. Hockey fans seem to stick together, even if they cheer for rival teams, which is something I don’t see with fans of other sports. Perhaps it’s due to the comradery that comes with violence. For example, if two guys get in a fist fight, they’re often found twenty minutes later kicking back beers, laughing with each other. Regardless of the rationale, hockey fans are fans united.

In Indiana this connection through hockey is further amplified. There are not a lot of us so when we find each other, we stick together. Maybe it’s a Midwestern thing, or maybe it’s the strong desire to talk/share the game with someone else who “gets it.” I attend a small college in Indiana, every hockey fan on campus knows each other by name and keeps a running dialogue about hockey with each other.

So what is the aim of this blog?

Simply, to talk about hockey within the Hoosier State’s borders. To further elaborate, I want this to be a place where hockey fans in Indiana can communicate with each other. I’m completely open to people submitting their stories, pictures or even uniform concepts (only rule is that this team, fictional or real, must exist within Indiana). As for my contributions, I’ll be trying to cover hockey at the high school, college and pro levels in the state. I’m also going to try and share as much history about hockey in Indiana as I can. If I learn about it and it seems interesting, it’ll be here. I might also display some of my sweater concepts, along with general stories about hockey. There are a few hockey historians that I’m trying to track down for interviews.

My goal is to post at least three times a week, at least in the beginning stages of this blog. I’m currently working on assembling a decent list of “This Day in Indiana Hockey History.”

If you have any further ideas to help improve this blog, feel free to leave your suggestions in the comments section. If you have something to submit, contact me at hoosierhockey@gmail.com. Also if you want to follow this blog on twitter, follow it here: http://www.twitter.com/hoosierhockey.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 3:42 am

    I’m really interested to see what you can cook up for the day in Indiana hockey history. There could be a lot of interesting stuff that most people don’t know about.

Leave a Reply

