Skip to content

Commenter Discussion: The United States of Hockey?

August 10, 2010

Today as I was catching up on posts I’ve missed on The Clink Room, I came across this map:

United States of Hockey

I recognize this design as there is also a United States of Baseball map that exists. Apparently Nike commissioned the map at some point, but I do not recall ever seeing this before.

Personally, I believe that the Blue Jackets’ “nation” is quite too large and Florida is essentially completely incorrect. In my massive amount of time I’ve spent in that state, I do not recall ever meeting a Panthers fan. I could be wrong, but I’m thinking that most of those living north of Tampa are either Lightning, Thrashers or Hurricanes fans. Although, I will say that I believe Indianapolis is well represented as most fans in this area are either Blackhawks, Blue Jackets or Red Wings fans. Also, great call on making Northwestern Indiana and the area stretching to South Bend as Blackhawks fans. That I know is 100% accurate.

What about you guys? Thoughts? Areas that are either completely correct or off-base?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. JPFDeuce permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:10 pm

    The Pacific Northwest is not all Canuck territory. Especially with how the Canucks are hands-off with marketing anywhere beyond Vancouver.

  2. August 10, 2010 6:19 pm

    I think fair weathered caps fans bite further into the Hurricanes fan base….otherwise pretty good

  3. August 10, 2010 6:23 pm

    As someone who makes maps for a living, as well as being a hockey blogger, I’d have to disagree with this map. It’s obvious that whoever made it doesn’t have a great grasp on fan bases simply because they follow political boundaries (state/provincial lines) far too much. Only in a very general sort of way is it right – but I’m talking VERY general.

  4. brent permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:31 pm

    I haven’t seen many stars fans in oklahoma, or west texas. I mean if you tell them they have to pick a team then sure they will pick the “hometown” team that is closest to them. but they aren’t really fans/followers of the sport.

    Blues and capitals area’s also seem a little bit to large to me…

  5. Vanya permalink
    August 10, 2010 7:07 pm

    As far as Western Washington goes, it’s not Canucks country. Vancouver goes out of its way, seemingly, to alienate fans south of the border.

    Of local acquaintance, Red Wings fans dominate about 5:1, with the Penguins and Habs coming in second/third, then Colorado a distant fourth.

  6. August 10, 2010 8:16 pm

    After living in North Dakota for five years, most NoDakers are Wild fans, especially in Eastern ND. From the people I know in Bismarck, they tend to lean toward the Avs, or the ‘Yotes since they used to be Jets fans. Also, I have a hard time believing that fans in southern Wisconsin are cheering for the Wild when the Hawks are so close.

    As Cassie said above, the boarders are a bit sharp along the political boundaries. No way northern Iowa isn’t squarely in the Wild camp, and there is no section of Canada that is neutral on anything hockey.

  7. Jpfdeuce permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:43 am

    You already mentioned this, Peter, but Florida is also so screwed up it isn’t even funny. The Panthers do NOT dominate the state. The team name suggests they are the “State” team, but South Florida and North Florida go together about as well as Hatfields and McCoys…

    I’d sooner list the majority of the state in the north as Neutral than tie it to the Panthers. I’m not saying the Lightning dominate the state… I am playing down the Panthers reach.

    I think the map was somewhat derived from the Common Census Sports Map which is not updated nor popularized to get an accurate census (http://www.commoncensus.org/sports_map.php?sport=4)

  8. August 11, 2010 8:04 pm

    Naah, that Blues area is about right – it does stretch across the state and that far into IL. As far as the Arkansas part, though, I guess that’s the same deal as Oklahoma is with the Stars. The Blues are the “local team,” just like the Cardinals in baseball, so they’ll say they’re fans.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

